

WARDS TO BE CONTESTED IN THE MUNICIPAL BY-ELECTIONS OF 1 AUGUST 2012

09/07/2012

Municipal ward by-elections will take place in eight provinces namely Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape and Western Cape on Wednesday, 1 August 2012.

A total of 13 wards will be contested. Voting will take place in 70 voting districts in the following wards:

Eastern Cape:

- Ward 11 in Mhlontlo [Qumbu] Municipality EC156 with 3 551 registered voters. The ward was
 previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the
 resignation of the councillor.
- Ward 19 in Mhlontlo [Qumbu] Municipality EC156 with 3094 registered voters. The ward was
 previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the
 resignation of the councillor.
- Ward 23 in Mhlontlo [Qumbu] Municipality EC156 with 3 214 registered voters. The ward was
 previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the
 resignation of the councillor.

Free State:

Ward 18 in **Ngwathe** [Parys] Municipality – FS203 with 4005 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the Democratic Alliance and became vacant as a result of the termination of the councillor's membership from the Party.

Gauteng:

Ward 12 in Lesedi [Heidelberg] Municipality –GT423 with 3050 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.

KwaZulu-Natal:

- Ward 5 in Umtshezi [Estcourt] Municipality KZN234 with 3970 registered voters. The ward was
 previously represented by the Inkatha Freedom Party and became vacant as a result of the
 death of the councillor.
- Ward 8 in Uphongolo [Pongola] Municipality KZN262 with 3216 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the National Freedom Party and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.
- Ward 9 in Abaqulusi [Vryheid] Municipality KZN263 with 3711 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the Democratic Alliance and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.
- Ward 2 in Ntambana [Ntambana] Municipality KZN283 with 4601 registered voters. The ward
 was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of
 the death of the councillor.

Limpopo:

Ward 27 in Greater Tubatse [Burgersfort/Ohrigstad/Eastern Tubatse – LIM475 with 4123 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.



Mpumalanga

Ward 2 in Govan Mbeki [Highveld Ridge] – MP307 with 3078 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.

Northern Cape:

Ward 1 in Phokwane [Hartswater] – NC094 with 3433 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.

Western Cape:

Ward 6 in Swartland [Malmesbury] - WC015 with 3658 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the Democratic Alliance and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.

For more information on these by-elections including special votes, contact your local Municipal Electoral Officer during office hours. Contact details for Municipal Electoral Officers are available on the IEC website at www.elections.org.za under Contact Us.

Please see below the election timetable for the by-elections of 1 August 2012.

ISSUED BY THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Centurion 9 July 2012

[Source: www.elections.org.za]]