Welcome to Ngwathe Local Municipality

The Ngwathe Local Municipality is situated in the northern part of Fezile Dabi District Municipality. The major towns that form Ngwathe Local Municipality’s areas of jurisdiction include Parys, Vredefort, Heilbron, Koppies and Edenville. The former Transitional Local Councils and section of the former Koepel, Kroonkop and Vaal Dam Transitional Rural Councils also form part of the Ngwathe area. The Vaal River forms the northern boundary of the area, which also serves as the boundary between the Free State and Gauteng and North West Province. The Renoster River also drains through the region and is dammed up in the vicinity of Koppies in a series of dams, namely Weltevrede, Rooipoort and Koppies Dams. The rivers together with the respective dams are prominent water sources for agricultural purposes in the region. Read More…

Latest News